EUROPEAN UNIONCENTRE

Celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Central European states' accession to the European Union

1 May 2014 marks the 10th anniversary of the Central European states' accession to the European Union. Ten European countries acceded to the EU on 1 May 2004: Poland, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Slovenia, Slovakia and Hungary. This was a historic achievement for which these countries had been striving since the change of their regimes.

We will mark this anniversary with a celebratory event in which representatives of some accession countries will reflect on the implications of EU membership for their nation, and their views of the future of the EU over the next decade.

After the presentations and panel discussion you're invited to join us for some drinks and nibbles.

This event will coincide with the opening of the European Union Studies Association Asia Pacific (EUSAAP) Conference.

Event details:

Wednesday 30 April, 2014 6.00pm - 7:30pm RMIT City campus Kaleide Theatre 360 Swanston St Melbourne

Speakers (others to be confirmed):

His Excellency Mr Yannis Iacovou, High Commissioner of Cyprus to Australia

Mr Piotr Buszta, First Secretary of the Republic of Poland

Mr Danute Levickis, Honorary Consul for Lithuania

Free Event. All Welcome.

Please RSVP to eucentre@rmit.edu.au for catering purposes









