EUROPEAN UNION CENTRE

The EU Centre at RMIT in conjunction with the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Australian Institute of International Affairs Victoria, the Goethe Institute, Monash University and the University of Melbourne EU Centre on Shared Complex Challenges present:

"Germany and the European Union 25 Years after the Peaceful Revolution"

The fall of the Berlin Wall 25 years ago was the beginning of the end of decades of a divided Europe. In its wake, European countries took the chance to unite in peace. This historic example shows what change is possible in Europe, especially if it is brought about by a common purpose – a fact more important than ever in light of current developments. Europe can only move forward together - both politically and economically, and especially when facing the challenges of globalisation and the digital revolution.

Event details

Friday 31 October, 2014 12:00pm - 2:00pm A light lunch will be served

RMIT City Campus, Kaleide Theatre RMIT Building 8, level 3 342 Swanston Street, Melbourne

Speaker: Professor Norbert Lammert, Christian Democratic Union / Christian Social Union (CDU/ CSU) Social scientist, President of the German Parliament

RSVP to eucentre@rmit.edu.au by Wednesday 29 October for catering purposes



Dr. Norbert Lammert, President of the German Bundestag studied political science, sociology, modern history and social economics at the University of Bochum and the University of Oxford (England) from 1969 to 1975.

He graduated in 1972 and obtained his doctorate in social sciences in 1975.

Dr. Lammert worked freelance in the field of adult education and further training as a lecturer at various academies, foundations, associations and firms; lecturer in political science at the Bochum Universities of Applied Sciences (economics department) and the University of Hagen (public administration). He has published works on party research and economic and social policy problems.

He has been a Member of the Christian Democratic Union (CDU) since 1966 and a Member of the German Bundestag since 1980. He was Vice-President of the German Bundestag from October 2002 to 18 October 2005, and has been the President of the German Bundestag since 18 October 2005.













